2011 New Year’s Reading Resolutions

2010 sucked for many reasons, and I hope to god that 2011 is waaay better. Starting with re-energizing this blog!

First things first, I guess:

My reading and blogging goals for 2011

Read more, post more reviews, read more, read more books about and by POC,  read more, blog more regularly, and read more.

I’m probably going to use reading challenges to help focus and motivate me, so with that in mind, here are my first two reading challenges:

1) The Fifty Book Challenge

2) POC Reading Challenge – I’m signing up for the 2nd level challenge, reading 4-6 POC books, but I’m sure I will exceed that*. I’m not even going to try to predict what I read for this or any other challenge, but I can tell you the first one: A Girl Named Disaster by Nancy Farmer, which I am rereading (for the first time in… 12 years, maybe?) for my YA book club. In particular, I’ve been working on my African geography, so I’d love to make at least one more of these set somewhere in Africa like Girl Named Disaster is**. :)

3) South Asian Reading Challenge – Again, I’m being conservative in my sign-up level, but I’m aiming for “South Asian Wanderer” which means reading three books by/about South Asia/ns.

That’s it for now. I’ll be back at some point with more challenges, in all likelihood.

*Unless, of course, like last year, I practically stop reading.

**Also, omg, WHY do I ever read Amazon reviews? One for A Girl Named Disaster claims that the book is too slow and that boys will be put off by the “female nature” of it! What?! This is a flipping adventure novel! I wonder if the reviewer read past the first three chapters. Another review incorrectly says that the book takes place in the 1800s (it actually takes place in the late 1970s!) and there are way too many reviews (both favorable and critical) that describe the setting no more specifically than “Africa” and Nhamo (the MC) no more specifically as “African”, even though the setting of the book is very well defined (Mozambique and Shona, respectively). What the hell is “African culture”, anyway? *steams*

1 Comment

Filed under other stuff

One response to “2011 New Year’s Reading Resolutions

  1. Ari

    I stopped reading Amazon reviews after one completely spoiled the ending of If you Come Softly by Jacqueline woodson. A book you do not want spoiled, it’s so lovely (have you read it? If not, READ IT).

    I was recently on Twitter asking about YA books set in Africa. I’ve read a few such as Ipods in Accra by Sophia Acheampong (published in the UK, set in London and Ghana), Between Sisters by Adwoa Badoe (Ghana again) and Where I Belong by Gillian Cross (half in London, half in Somalia. Being republished in the U.S.), The Shadow Speaker by Nnedi Okorafoar (set in the future of Nigeria). Not spectacular books but they were entertaining, although the Shadow Speaker is amazing. Regardless someone suggested A Girl Named Disaster and I definitely intend on checking it out. Perhaps your review will convince me to read it sooner :) Oh and not YA but if you haven’t read Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, do so asap.

    Thank you for signing up for the poc reading challenge and the African American Read-In!

Leave a Reply

