Hour 13: Mid-Event Survey

Halfway through already? Gorsh. Here’s the good old mid-event survey.

Mia:

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation: Volume One: The Pox Party, by M.T. Anderson. I am 128 pages into it.
2. How many books have you read so far? I have finished two: The Rough-Face Girl, a picture book by Rafe Martin with illustrations by David Shannon, and Sweet Tooth Volume 1, a graphic novel by Jeff Lemire. I also finished The Graveyard Game, by Kage Baker, but to be fair I only had about 25 pages left on that one when the Read-a-Thon started. I’ve also read 17 pages of Vineland, by Thomas Pynchon.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I look forward to possibly finishing The Pox Party, and perhaps reading Farm 54, a graphic novel by Galit and Gilad Seliktar. And, of course, Rain, by V.C. Andrews, on which Jessica and I are looking forward to making some progress.
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? Not really. My boyfriend is lurking in the back of the house, probably feeling somewhat ignored, but other than a get-together with some friends tonight that I had to beg off of, I had a free day.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? My aforementioned three-legged kitten, Flat Tire, has been most enthusiastic about providing us with breaks and distractions. I think she’s taking a nap now, which seems like a terribly good idea all of a sudden.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How much time it can take to do the mini-challenges if you really get into them. Many of them have been too much fun!
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? The hosts do a great job considering all the information they’re keeping track of, but double-checking challenges and links and everything would be good, just to make sure all information provided to participants is correct and current.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Oh, I’d definitely try to get more sleep the week prior to the Read-a-Thon. I slept terribly all this week so staying up through the next twelve hours or so is going to be a hurdle to jump. Or something. I’m too addlepated to use metaphors sensically.
9. Are you getting tired yet? Yyyyyyyes. Though not actively falling asleep in my book, which is something.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Changing up your location is a great way to wake up a bit if you’re lagging. Go to a park or a coffee shop, or go read while eating dinner somewhere. Sitting in the same place reading for 24 hours straight is liable to wear on anybody.

Flat Tire is our own personal Cheerleader. Ish.

 

Jessica:

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? Sailing to Sarantium by Guy Gavriel Kay
2. How many books have you read so far? I’ve finished two – Whales on Stilts by M.T. Anderson and The Rough-Face Girl by Rafe Martin and David Shannon. I’ve also read about fifty pages of Leviathan (putting me on page 202) and finished the introduction of Tending the Wild. For the last bit of time I’ve been reading the prologue to Sailing to Sarantium, which is a whopping forty pages. I mean… That is a damn long prologue!
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I’d like to get further in both Leviathan and Sailing to Sarantium, possibly finishing Leviathan. If that happens, I’m looking forward to picking up either Tender Morsels or If You Come Softly. Which one I pick up will depend strongly on my mood. Oh, and Rain, of course.
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? Kinda? I guess? I drove out to Mia’s house in Stockton from Berkeley and I had to say no to a couple of other things I’d have loved to do. Why does everything interesting and fun have to happen during the Read-a-Thon?
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Doing the Read-a-Thon with people and animals is always going to be a little more distracting than doing it without. ;)
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? This is the first time I’ve woken up even close to the starting time – 5 am is pretty darn early! What’s surprising is that, though I am definitely starting to lag, I’m not as tired as I thought I’d be.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope!
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I’d try to plan my week a little better, so that I could get to sleep before midnight. Waking up at 5 am wouldn’t be as hard if I went to sleep at 10!
9. Are you getting tired yet? Definitely.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? I think it’s a great idea to have a big TBR pile and not commit to reading any specific books. This event is hard enough without punishing yourself or limiting yourself.

3 Comments

Filed under other stuff

3 responses to “Hour 13: Mid-Event Survey

  1. Changing location and having lots of books are both GREAT tips!! Hope you ladies have a wonderful time readathoning!!

    Give me an R
    Give me an E
    Give me an A
    Give me a D

    Go Jessica and Mia!!

    ps–i wants that kitteh

  2. Cheering you on during the last half of the RAT! You are making great progress, hang in there.

  3. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 24: Finis!

Leave a Reply

