A Little About Me, A to Z: Mia Edition

Like Tito said: Why not?

Age: 23

Bed Size: Full. Wish it were bigger, though, our kitten Flat Tire likes to sneak in when we leave the door open and take up all the space.

Chore that you hate: Dishes, especially ones that may have, um, been sitting longer than they should, and maybe growing a little mold.

Dogs: None of my very own, but my mom and stepdad have two: Toby and Mr. Roscoe Stubbs. My dad and stepmom have two as well (Rumpelstiltskin and Valentina) but I haven’t met them yet, while Toby and Roscoe are old friends.

Essential start to your day: Right now? Feeding Flat Tire so she’ll stop yapping at the door.

Favorite colors: Tito’s infected me pretty badly with her teal/peacock love, but there are so many other colors that I adore. It’s hard to choose just one, but the particular green of matcha powder is so pretty:

Gold or Silver: Both! I regularly mix and match; my standard non-fancy-earrings pair of earrings are one gold stud, one silver stud. But that’s because I had to get my ears pierced twice and have one stud from each initial piercing.
Height: 5’7″. Not as much of a giantess as Tito, but taller than a number of my friends, which I like to mercilessly lord over them.

Instruments you play: I used to play the violin, but I was never better than mediocre. Slide whistle?

Job Title: Administrative Assistant. So glam!

Kids: None, thank god. (No, but really. I’m not a kids person.)

Live: San Joaquin Valley, CA, aka the Armpit of the West Coast

Mother-in-Law’s name: I’m not married, thank god.

Nicknames: Mia is the most pervasive one, obviously. A good friend used to call me Pookie, and my dad calls me Mimi sometimes. Not crazy about anybody else using that last one, though.

Overnight hospital stays: None, that I can remember. (Say that last part in a spooky/Vincent Price/Rod Serling voice and we’ve got a horror story on our hands.)

Pet Peeves: People who make loud sipping noises and then go “AHHHH” after every loud sip. There was a guy in one of my college classes who did this, and I wanted to strangle him with my scarf.

Quote from a movie: “If I’ve told you once, I’ve told you a hundred times: DO NOT FAN THE GIRLS WHEN THEY’RE WET! But you’ll never learn, you’ll be a eunuch all your life.” – Marcus Lycus (Phil Silvers), A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum (This has been one of my favorite movies since I was five or six and didn’t know what a eunuch was.)

Right or Left handed: Lefty! And obnoxiously proud about it like most lefties. Hand of the devil, you know.
Siblings: One older brother, thank goodness. I don’t think I could handle any others.

Time you wake up: During the work week, anytime between 6:45 and 7:20 a.m., depending on how often I ignore my alarm. On the weekend, whenever I damn well please.

Underwear: Cotton! And whatever doesn’t ride up.

Vegetable you hate: Do I have any of these? Let me think…I honestly can’t come up with any veggie I truly despise. I did, however, find a list of vegetables of dubious origin that informs me that okra is also known as “ladies’ fingers.” My fingers don’t look like no okra! Am I not a lady?

What makes you run late: My own bad time-management skills. That, and oversleeping.

X-Rays you’ve had: None that I can think of. I’ve never broken a bone or had a similar serious accident. I’m really more of a bruiser.

Yummy food that you make: Oh, lots of stuff (or so I like to think). I don’t have too many recipes that I can call purely my own, but I particularly love to make soups–like this one or this one.
Zoo animal: As Tito mentioned, giraffes have become an inextricable part of my life thanks to Mike, but when I go to zoos I particularly like to look for bats (any kind) and spotted hyenas.
I have a couple of book reviews floating around in my head, and hopefully I’ll be able to put them down in the next few days before I go on vacation to Chicago! Woop, and another woop for good measure.

1 Comment

Filed under other stuff

One response to “A Little About Me, A to Z: Mia Edition

  1. Haha, wow, I suck at this whole “keeping up with your own damn blog” thing.

    Thanks for filling it out, Mia! I think you’re already in Chicago, but I hope your trip is super duper! (It’s a shame you can’t say that without sounding sarcastic, but please know I mean it from the bottom of my heart.)

Leave a Reply

