Read-a-Thon Mini Challenge Hour 13

Hey, other readers! Mia checking in. It’s nearing dinnertime around our part of the world, and Jessica and I are still going pretty strong. We’ve done a few mini-challenges on Twitter and in comment sections, but I thought I’d take a minute to fill out Lisa’s mini-challenge for this hour! My choices are as follows, with the unintentional theme of name-titles.

Best YA Book of Your Reading Year: Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell. This book nearly did me in. MY HEART. Rainbow Rowell is an amazing writer and made a topic which isn’t usually too compelling to me–teenage love–un-put-down-able.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Best Fantasy Book of Your Reading Year: Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, by Susanna Clarke. I mean, this is kind of a duh, but it’s SO GOOD. It’s so good that I must shout about it. SO GOOD.

Jonathan_strange_and_mr_norrell_cover

Best Children’s Book of Your Reading Year: Anastasia Krupnik, by Lois Lowry. I just read this for the first time for the Read-a-Thon, and oh my goodness gracious. Anastasia is wonderful, her parents are wonderful. I am rendered incoherent by my enjoyment of this book.

116493

(This cover illustration looks nothing like Anastasia Krupnik, but that’s beside the point.)

Jessica: I’m going to be a little less cool than Mia and not find covers, BUT here goes.

Best Book of Your Reading Year: Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke – I know Mia picked it, too, but this book is SO GOOD. I took over a year to read it and by the time I finished, it felt like a friend. I miss it. :(

Best YA Book of Your Reading Year: Goose Girl by Shannon Hale – Hale is one of my favorite authors and I had never read her debut. It was lovely. Enough said!

Best Romance Book of Your Reading Year: The Bridegroom Wore Plaid by Grace Burrowes – I’m not actually done with this one, but I love the romance between the two leads. They have very real reasons for not being able to be together and they are friends before lovers, which is a trope I love and need more of! I think I know how the conflicts will resolve and it involves a mustache-twirling Evil Dude, which is a shame because these two leads deserve a little more nuance than that. Still, I’m really enjoying this one!

3 Comments

Filed under other stuff

3 responses to “Read-a-Thon Mini Challenge Hour 13

  1. Emilie

    I saw two people at our house reading Jonathan Strange today. Looks like a really heavy book!

    Here’s a quote to keep you going!
    “Everything in the world exists in order to end up as a book.”
    ― Stéphane Mallarmé

  2. We had a friend come over for just a couple of hours to read today, while the rest of us were reading and snacking, and she, too, was reading JS&MrN. It’s such an awesome book: I agree. (And I think she will, too.) Glad to hear that you’re enjoying your readathon so much. Keep it up: you’re doing great! (I’m cheering from Team Panda!)

  3. aartichapati

    I love all three of the books you showcase here! Ah, Anastasia Krupnik. I forgot about her :-)

    Did you have any interest in participating the A More Diverse Universe tour again this year? It’s in about a month!
    http://www.aartichapati.com/2013/09/tss-more-diverse-universe-revisited.html

Leave a Reply

