Belated Read-a-Thon End of Event Meme!

Whoa, everybody. Whoa. Jessica and I bugged out for about the last five hours, but now that the Read-a-Thon is over (womp-womp), we’re here to fill out the end of event meme! Mia first!

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Definitely hour 20 or so, which was right before Jessica and I crashed out. Soooo sleeeeepyyyyy, plus Jessica’s cat Nousha was cuddling with me, and I really wanted to follow her lead and just curl up for a nap.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Well, for us Anastasia Krupnik was a sure-fire winner–really, any MG or YA book that you have fond memories of from childhood would be a great light read that sucks you in and keeps you entertained.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I thought everything went really smoothly this year, other than the hiccups with Canadians who weren’t able to participate as much due to the Thanksgiving holiday.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I thought the spread of mini-challenges was pretty good, and we got some really positive, thoughtful cheerleaders.
  5. How many books did you read? I finished two, read most of a third, and started a fourth.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? I finished Anastasia Krupnik by Lois Lowry and A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. LeGuin; I read most of Look For Me By Moonlight by Mary Downing Hahn; and I got a few stories into Mothership: Tales from Afrofuturism and Beyond, edited by Bill Campbell and Edward Austin Hall.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Anastasia Krupnik was a real delight, especially since I’d never read it before. A Wizard of Earthsea was also wonderfully written and I’m looking forward to the rest of the series.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Well, I WAS enjoying Look For Me By Moonlight when I thought it was just a cheesy/hilarious vampire-boyfriend story, but then it turned into a sexual abuse allegory, which, while a perfectly legitimate critique of the genre, wasn’t at all funny and was in fact pretty depressing. I’m still trying to figure out the target audience for that book.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? n/a
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I will definitely participate in April’s Read-a-thon, unless something prevents me from doing so! Jessica and I might like to run another mini-challenge next time, since this one is always so fun.

Jessica next, second, and last!

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I’d say hour 10, maybe? I had a headache.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Yeah, I’ll go with Mia. Anastatia Krupnik was short and super fun – perfect for the Read-a-Thon. I’m also fond of romance novels and mystery novels. Things with quick pacing are easier to keep reading for hours.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Wellll, I always say this, but I wish we could vary the start time.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everything seemed to go smoothly!
  5. How many books did you read? I finished two books and read from three more.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? I read the entirety of Anastasia Krupnik, finished The Bridegroom Wore Plaid, started Across the Universe, read a little from American Pastoral, and started A is for Alibi.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? I loooooved Anastatia Krupnik as a kid and it was really, really fun to revisit her and her parents.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? American Pastoral. I’m reading it for a book club and, while the writing itself is decent, I am not fond of the pace or the narrator or ugh. I just don’t like it much at all.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? n/a
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Definitely! Mia and I have such fun running the mad libs challenge and I think we’ll probably do it as long as you let us. :)
1 Comment

Filed under other stuff

One response to “Belated Read-a-Thon End of Event Meme!

  1. Thank you for your feeeedback! I hear ya re: start times. The biggest clincher to that is that the organizers are American and Canadian (chance, no international volunteers the last few times). And we like it that they’re awake for the event. But it is something we’re considering trying on a trial. Not sure if we’ll tackle this to-do for April as we’re currently reevaluating some of our cheerleading and prize logistics. I really appreciate y’all! –Andi

Leave a Reply

