a story told in links

I’m eternally fascinated by what people are reading, and that includes friends, family, blog writers, and authors. Imagine my delight when I found out about RED, or the Reading Experience Database.  Using letters and other evidence, the people behind RED have been building a massive database of what Brits have been reading for the past six hundred years! So awesome!

The first author I looked up, of course, was Jane Austen.  I gathered quite a substantial list of books she had read (and enjoyed – what’s the point of reading something Jane disliked?) and started looking for them on Amazon and Project Gutenberg.  In the meantime, though, I stumbled upon a nifty little site called Girlebooks, which features, you guessed it, ebooks written by women.  Most of the books are copyright-free and so can be found free elsewhere, but they come in a multitude of formats and I’m just tickled pink by the emphasis of women authors, and specifically classic women authors.  There are many more than Jane Austen and Lousia May Alcott!  Anyway, I’ve downloaded a ton of books and am looking forward to reading them.  Now if only I could read them on something other than my laptop!

One thought on “a story told in links

Leave a Reply

