Is life too short?

Booking Through Thursday is a neat site that gives a book-related prompt every Thursday for book bloggers to respond to. I’m going to try to do them occasionally in the future, starting with last week’s, which read:

“Life is too short to read bad books.” I’d always heard that, but I still read books through until the end no matter how bad they were because I had this sense of obligation.

That is, until this week when I tried (really tried) to read a book that is utterly boring and unrealistic. I had to stop reading.

Do you read everything all the way through or do you feel life really is too short to read bad books?

When I was younger I read just about every book I started to the end. In the last few years, though, as my unread book pile keeps getting larger and larger, I definitely put books down. I guess I feel not just that life is too short, but that there are too many good books! If I could read all the good books and have time left over for the bad ones, why not finish them? But I don’t even have enough time for the good ones, so why waste my time with the bad?

What about you?

One thought on “Is life too short?

  1. I agree more with your version. I read for my own enjoyment, and if I’m not enjoying a book, well I guarantee I’ll never read all the good books in the world, so I should be reading one of those. So I have a follow up question then actually. Some says you HAVE to read a book, because it’s excellent… but DO you have to read it? If instead you keep reading other excellent books instead, and you never read that book in your life, have you actually lost anything?

Leave a Reply

