Sunday Dreaming 2/14/10

Of course I flaked and didn’t post this yesterday, but better late than never!

What books have I drooled over this week? It’s Feburary, which means it’s Black History Month, so all of the books will feature African American authors and/or characters.

A true story, The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba and Brian Mealer, looks simply amazing. Again, let me just post a video:

(via Trisha at Guy’s Lit Wire)

My Life is a Rhombus by Varian Johnson looks to be a balanced and emotional look at two teenagers dealing with unplanned pregnancies and the many consequences.

Mare’s War by Tanita S. Davis is a book I’ve been wanting for a while. Two girls take a long road trip with their grandmother, who regales them with tales about her time in the Women’s Army Corps.

Zahrah the Windseeker by Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu is another one I’ve been wanting for a while. Any sort of non-Western SF&F is immediately high on my list.

And lastly, even though this post has been full to the brim of YA, I can’t resist one last one: A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot. It’s a time-travel tale, but as always it’s the recommendations from others that the characters are developed and their relationships nuanced that really makes me want to read this.
(via Paula at The Defenders Online)

Leave a Reply

