Rose Sees Red by Cecil Castellucci (Books Read in 2010 #7)

Mwahaha, right on schedule*!

1. Heir Apparent by Vivian Vande Velde
2. Locked Inside by Nancy Werline
3. Chew Volume 1: Taster’s Choice by John Layman and Rob Guillory
4. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
5. Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale
6. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
7. Rose Sees Red by Cecil Castellucci

This is the book I got in the mail last weekend. It’s an ARC (Advanced Reading Copy) that is trying to get itself into as many hands as possible. Castellucci asked for people who wanted it and made a list, emailing each person with the address of the person following you. I love this idea, because, really, so few ARCs are made. Plus, it’s fun to hold a book in your hands that you know has been read by like twenty other people.

Anyway, onto the book! It’s about a girl named Rose who goes to a performing arts school (for dance) in New York in 1982. That it took place in 1982 is great, but I wish it had been made clearer in the beginning of the book. There were some statements made (Rose lives next to a Russian family and, well, you can see where I’m going: KGB, Soviet Union, etc.) that made me raise my eyebrow, but I honestly didn’t put it together until halfway through the book. That’s a fairly minor complaint, though, and one of few that I have. Rose Sees Red is short, but packs a punch. Rose is a freshman and hasn’t made any friends at her school yet, but she’s about to.

Rose Sees Red is about that night where you suddenly feel different and you know that everything will be better, even if some things won’t change. It’s about the period of time when you go from looking in at yourself to looking out at, not just the people close to you, not just your friends and family, but the whole world. It’s about the epiphany of empathy. There’s a lot more to mention, but seeing as how I just said the most important part, I’ll end the review here.

Rose Sees Red comes out in August! Go put it on your wish list or equivalent now before you forget. *nod nod*

*For reading fifty books this year. I started setting that goal for myself in 2008 when I realized I hadn’t been reading nearly as much as I used to. I didn’t make it that year (I believe I got to 44), but I did last year, with 52 books! Yay for me! This Fifty Book Challenge started me on the extremely slippery slope of book challenges, which I am using this year only as a way to focus my reading (more books by non-American authors, more books by POC authors, more books featuring POC characters, more books that have been sitting on my shelves unread), instead of, well, being more strict about it and picking the books before, making sure I read a certain number of them, etc.

2 thoughts on “Rose Sees Red by Cecil Castellucci (Books Read in 2010 #7)

  1. hey! I just saw this and thank you for the wonderfully warm review! And I’m so glad you love the ARC mail around! I think it’s fun to read books before they come out, too!

    rock on!

    Cecil Castellucci

Leave a Reply

