Book List

Lost in Books hosts a weekly meme called The Book List. This week’s topic is:

Three Books I Should Love, but Actually Hate

1) The Great Gatsy by F. Scott Fitzgerald – It might not be fair for me to put this up here, as I read it in high school and not since… But, man, did I ever think that this book is overrated!

2) The Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien – Okay, this is cheating, too, since I don’t actually hate these books. It’s just… The world he created is so complex and the mythology so deep and wonderful. I don’t think, however, that the writing itself stands up to the world-building. And, unfortunately for it, fantasy novels and worlds for many years based themselves off it and the plot and characters and, hell, the world itself has become cliche. I guess I feel like LotR is like Freud – the founder, the great populizer – and, again like Freud, we’ve moved onto bigger and better things.

3) Mansfield Park by Jane Austen – Here’s a legitimate one. I cannot read this book. Fanny and Edmund are both such stick-in-the-mud IDIOTS and I don’t care if they ever get together. I hate this book!

I think it’s interesting that the books myself and others have chosen are either extremely popular (like Harry Potter) or classics (like all of mine). These are the books that we feel we “should” love.

2 thoughts on “Book List

  1. Fanny and Edmund were definitely not my favorite Austen characters either. I remember actually being annoyed when they finally got together. Yikes, Fanny, have some self respect! :-)

    It’s been a LONG time since I read LOTR. I do remember the writing was flawed, at least my modern standards — too much descriptive detail slowed down the plot. I think part of what makes them such classics is that he was the first to create this kind of fantasy world, a path so many others have followed.

    • I agree with you on both points.

      I kind of hesitated putting LOTR in there, because I don’t hate the books at all. They actually were an important part of my life for a while. But I was always annoyed with the writing to the point of almost putting the books down in several places, so…

Leave a Reply

