Reading Meme

1. Favorite childhood book?
It changed all the time, but I’ll go with Matilda.

2. What are you reading right now?
Three Cups of Tea

3. What books do you have on request at the library?
None! I’m trying to read more of the books that a. people have lent me and b. I’ve bought but haven’t read.

4. Bad book habit?
Buying too many of them!

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
I have a chicken book that is overdue because the library it’s from is 1.5 hours away and I haven’t been back. >.>

6. Do you have an e-reader?
No, but my mom does! I mostly play sudoku on it.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
Often at least two. If my mood changes in the middle of a book, I often will start a new one and slowly keep working on the old one.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
This is an interesting question and one I might answer in a separate post. The short answer is that in some ways I thinks about the books more deeply and in other ways less deeply.

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
I’ve kind of lost track of my reading, but there was a romance novel that was kind of irritating.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
Maybe Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
I’m not sure what my reading comfort zone is!

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
Oh, well. See above.

13. Can you read on the bus?
I get motion sickness, but I’ll sometimes read at red lights or even stop signs. That works better for complex writing (like academic articles and such) where I can read a couple of sentences and then spend the minutes while the bus is moving to think.

14. Favorite place to read?
My chair!

15. What is your policy on book lending?
I hand ‘em out as often as people will take them!

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
I almost never dog-ear pleasure reading.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
Same as above.

18.  Not even with text books?
I often write in the margins of textbooks and occasionally dog-ear them.

19. What is your favorite language to read in?
English. I don’t speak any other languages well enough to read more than picture books!

20. What makes you love a book?
Good characters (who grow and change!) and beautiful writing. And an absorbing plot and real-feeling setting and…

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
Often a strong emotional response.

22. Favorite genre?
Young adult!

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
Biographies.

Favorite biography?
! I don’t read many and can honestly not remember the last one I read.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
I’ve read parts of a couple and I have one in my TBR.

26. Favorite cookbook?
Eeek! I love to cook, but I get most of my recipes online these days! Maybe the Croatian cookbook my (now ex-) roommate picked up for me at a library sale a few months ago. (I, of course, have yet to cook a recipe from it.)

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
Interesting question! I generally find non-fiction more inspiring. I’m about halfway through with Three Cups of Tea which, while inspiring, is also occasionally infuriating (especially to the anthropologist in me). On the other hand, Book of a Thousand Days was a pure joy to read, and what is more inspiring than that?

28. Favorite reading snack?
Chips, maybe?

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
I don’t know that it’s ever ruined my experience, but it can certainly alter it. Another interesting question that might deserve its own post.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
That would depend on the critic and the book!

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I believe that reading critically is important, though not all the time! For me, reading critically changes the reading experience fundamentally and sometimes it’s just not what I want. So I will often include my least favorite parts of books. Likewise, I have a hard time believing that ANY book is completely terrible, and so I will search for positives even in books I didn’t like. I enjoy snark and teasing in good fun, but I have also read reviews that just seem cruel. Is that necessary? Reviews are for readers and readers certainly find harsh reviews entertaining, but I think it probably encourages negative sides of ourselves. Oh, Schadenfreude, will we ever be rid of you?

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
Hm! Does that mean I would automatically speak the language, too? Hmm… Perhaps Hindi or Japanese. Or Chinese. Or Arabic! Or Persian!

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
No idea. I tend not to read books that intimidate me, I believe.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
At the moment, The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky for my Five Book Challenge.

35. Favorite Poet?
Um, me. No, just kidding. My cousin. Or, if you want someone I don’t know personally, Elizabeth Bishop.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
When I am frequenting libraries, I generally check out 2-4 books.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
At least a quarter of the time!

38. Favorite fictional character?
There are too many! I love Ender, I love Elizabeth Bennett, I love Ella (from Ella Enchanted), I love and love and love so many!

39. Favorite fictional villain?
Villains SUCK. I hate them all. Maybe the conquering emperor in Tigana.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Fun! Fun and quick!

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
Reading a book? Maaaaybe a week? I find that doubtful, though. Reading anything? Maybe an hour.

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
Mansfield Park.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
The internet. Siiiigh.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
I’ll be unoriginal and say the BBC Pride and Prejudice.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Ella Enchanted.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
I worked for B&N for almost a year and spent 90% of my last paycheck on books. Mind you, it was part-time, close to minimum wage, and we got our paychecks every week, so it wasn’t hundreds of dollars. Just under two, in fact. :P

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
Never.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
Losing it, hating it.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
Yes! By genre and author.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
Depends on whether I think I will reread them and how much I loved them in the first place.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
The Brothers Karamazov.

52. Name a book that made you angry.
Twilight.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
Hm. I can’t think of any offhand.

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
I’m having a lot of mixed feelings about Three Cups of Tea.

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
Harry Potter!

1 Comment

Filed under other stuff

One response to “Reading Meme

  1. Arc

    Daaaaaamn you. Here I was somewhat successfully studying membrane transport and then bam. This looks fun but I don’t have a (real) blog so I’m going to just nuke your comments! Muahahaha

    1. Favorite childhood book?
    Watership Down!

    2. What are you reading right now?
    Across Realtime

    3. What books do you have on request at the library?
    I’ve never been good with libraries…

    4. Bad book habit?
    Not reading enough of them. D=

    5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
    Uhhhh.

    6. Do you have an e-reader?
    Nope

    7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
    One. Raaaaarely two.

    8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
    >_>

    9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
    I’ve barely read books this year -_-
    I guess I’ll say Pilgrimage. It wasn’t bad at all, just not quite my thing.

    10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
    Hm. I reread Name of the Wind? Does that count?

    11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
    Very rarely. Usually for school if that counts.

    12. What is your reading comfort zone?
    Sci Fi/ Fantasy

    13. Can you read on the bus?
    Yes, but I’m bad at reading or doing much of ANYTHING when I’m in the middle of something or waiting in line or things like that.

    14. Favorite place to read?
    Class =P

    15. What is your policy on book lending?
    Always great, though, there was a character who said ‘I never lend books, only give them away. When you finish it give it to someone else.’ (paraphrased), and I aspire to that.

    16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
    Rarely with textbooks. I always regret it.

    17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
    Nope.

    18. Not even with text books?
    Nope. But then I don’t open text books that much >_>

    19. What is your favorite language to read in?
    English I suppose… I should get a book in Danish this weekend and see if I can handle it!

    20. What makes you love a book?
    Amazing world building, words that you feel in your bones. Hm… In fantasy when you can feel the poetry of the universe even when you can’t grasp it.

    21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
    Awesomeness.

    22. Favorite genre?
    SciFi/Fantasy

    23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
    Everything else honestly. Probably non fiction. Pop science/anthro/ling/soc/etc.

    Favorite biography?
    The only biography I can think of is Tolkien’s, which I read in like 6th grade?

    25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
    Hm. Define? I don’t think so.

    26. Favorite cookbook?
    Hrm. My mom had this big leatherbacked tome I used to bake from. I once nearly killed myself with mint chocolate cake. Ah memories.

    27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
    Uhhhh… Gonna cheat and say Rainbows End. I didn’t read it this year but I HAVE read Vinge and Rainbows End is just so… *this is the future*. Wondrous.

    28. Favorite reading snack?
    Chocolate, maybe?

    29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
    I don’t think this has happened to me, but I did avoid Harry Potter for years cos of the hype, which is pretty much tragic.

    30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
    63.726% of the time. Or maybe my mean agreement with any given review is about 60%?

    31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
    I try to be critical, but I don’t really hesitate to give a bad review to a good I didn’t like.

    32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
    Nooooo idea… I guess it would be pretty awesome to read the Prose Edda in Old Islandic, or Beowulf or something like that.

    33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
    I… honestly can’t seem to imagine being intimidated by a book…

    34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
    See above.

    35. Favorite Poet?
    Um. Seamus Heaney is a poet I like, but I haven’t read his poetry… Rasd-Coduresa Deziet Embless Sma da’ Marenhide? Do fictional poets count? Richard Feynman for his poem in ‘The Value of Science’.

    36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
    Nil

    37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
    Once earlier this year… which is 100% for the year…

    38. Favorite fictional character?
    Oof. Honestly my own. If that’s cheating… Ender, Peregrine Wrickrakrum, Kvothe, every protagonist in Watership Down, Darth Vader… the list goes on.

    39. Favorite fictional villain?
    Ooo… who to chose? A well crafted villain is a thing of beauty. Gotta go with Vader though. Hey he’s fictional.

    40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
    Whatever I’m reading at the time.

    41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
    Reading a book? A while lately >.>

    42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
    The Sword of Shannara.

    43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
    The internet. Games. People. Shiny objects.

    44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
    Guuhhhh… I can think of like four… Lotr I guess?

    45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
    Stardust I suppose, given the above. It failed to capture the majesty of the world and added a lame hollywood ending with no poetry.

    46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
    Maybe $50 bucks?

    47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
    Never.

    48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
    Annoying bullshit gimmicks. Bad writing and bad design.

    49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
    Keep them what?

    50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
    I usually keep them, but I’d like to give them away (see above).

    51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
    Avoiding? I don’t think so… unless you count the one I pretend to be writing! =P

    52. Name a book that made you angry.
    Kushiel’s Dart. The Authority, though that’s a comic book.

    53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
    Temeraire! Who thought “The Napoleonic War… but with dragons!” would be amazing?

    54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
    Across Realtime has turned out less than I expected based on Vinge’s later work.

    55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
    Heroic Fantasy I suppose.

Leave a Reply

