Also Hour 13 Update!

Woof! I can’t believe we’ve been doing this for so long already! It’s been quite a day so far. I finished Mystery Date with a bang, of sorts. Let me share with you some more of the glory (emphasis mine):

“What is it this time?” Elizabeth interrupted in an exasperated voice as she began mounting the stairs. Elizabeth’s hair was dripping. She wore her turquoise one-piece bathing suit and had a thick towel wrapped around her shoulders. “Did Danny and Bryce get fed up with double teaming you?” Elizabeth asked.

Oh, fabulous. What a great initiation to the Cult of the Wakefields. But alas, I have finished with it! In my sorrow, I turned–with Jessica’s kind help–to another piece of classic literature: Rain, of the V.C. Andrews empire. Oh boy. Reading it aloud has really been the way to go, let me tell you. In a couple of hours, Jessica and I will definitely have to share some of the choice erratic similes that have worked their way into every other paragraph. Never let people tell you this isn’t art!

Okay, onto the Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now?
Rain, by V.C. Andrews. (Well, “by.” Ghostwriter Andrew Neiderman actually wrote every V.C. Andrews book after the first twelve. The more you know!)
2. How many books have you read so far?
Finished one! Working on my second (though I have read a little of a third).
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
Oh, definitely Rain. It’s so, so promising.
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?
I’m staying at Jessica’s house, an hour and a half away from my own home! Which means my boyfriend can’t try and distract me when I’m not paying him any attention.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
A few, mostly having to pick up Nousha from the vet and getting food. Other than that big chunk of time, though, I’ve been pretty good at sticking to reading or doing Read-A-Thon related things.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
How social it is! I feel like I’ll have so many great book blogs to read after this because of all the neat people who have hosted events and gone around cheering readers on.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
Not really. I enjoy having the little surveys to fill out on the way through, and the challenges can be a welcome break so long as they aren’t too long or involved.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?
I would definitely try to get up on time, and maybe have a stash of snacks or drinks prepared so that I wouldn’t have to go hunting for things.
9. Are you getting tired yet?
A little, but more snackish than anything. (Thank goodness Jessica just brought me a slice of homemade rose-flavored cake!) We’ll see if we make it to 5am!
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?
I highly recommend doing the Read-A-Thon with another person. Jessica and I have had a blast so far! Reading aloud to each other and being able to talk about challenges and stuff together has helped keep me enthusiastic and reading.

Okay, folks, that’s it for now! Hope you’re all still going strong and proud, like Rain Arnold and her family in the Projects of Washington, D.C.

One thought on “Also Hour 13 Update!

Leave a Reply

