Last Hour

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I suppose this one. I know I keep whining about being tired, it’s just that I really am! :P
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I think having a graphic novel or book of short stories on hand is a great idea, as a sort of a palette cleanser or short break from reading longer works, while still giving you the satisfaction of finishing something!
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope!
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I loved a lot of the mini-challenges, and on a more personal note, doing it with a friend, in person, really helped me motivate and stay up this far!
5. How many books did you read? I only finished one, but I read parts of three books. (Plus one short story that Mia read aloud to me.)
6. What were the names of the books you read? Charlotte Sometimes, Rain, and A Fire Upon the Deep
7. Which book did you enjoy most? It’s hard to say! They’re all fabulous in different ways. I suppose Charlotte Sometimes, as it is the one I finished.
8. Which did you enjoy least? Rain by V.C. Andrews. I definitely have enjoyed reading it aloud with Mia, but it’s also incredibly bad and, in many ways, quite a painful read.
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? N/A
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’ve only been a reader and/or cheerleader in the past, so it might be fun to host a mini-challenge. That said, it really depends on what is going on, how much time/energy I have to prepare for the Read-a-Thon both before and during the actual event.

I’ll end with a couple of quotes I really enjoyed from Charlotte Sometimes, which I may end up repeating in a week or so when/if I do a proper review:

“Perhaps we never look at people properly, Charlotte thought. She remembered looking in a mirror once and trying to draw herself, how after she had been staring at them for a little while her features seemed no longer to make her face or any face. They were just a collection of eyes and nose and mouth. Perhaps if you stared at anyone like that their faces would disintegrate in the same way, till you could not tell whether you knew them or not, especially, of course, if there was no reason for them no to be who they said they were.” (pg 73)

“But when she put her fingers in the water and pulled a marble out, it was small by comparison with those still in the glass, and unimportant too. It was like the difference, for instance, between Arthur’s image of war and his experience of it. It was like other times, her own and Miss Agnes’s proper childhood times, that seemed so near to her memory and yet so far away. It was like everything that made you ache because in one sense it was so close and in another unobtainable.” (pg 155)

One thought on “Last Hour

  1. I really like those quotes you chose…like you said, it’s a sort of introduction to the ideas that at our ages we’ve already had some time to think about, but I think it’s a great way to put it for preteen and teenage readers. And it’s just well-written prose, which is SO DANG REFRESHING I CAN’T EVEN SAY

Leave a Reply

