BTT and the 2011 YA Bloggers Book Battle

Booking Through Thursday asked this week, “In contrast to last week’s question–What do you think of censoring books BECAUSE of their intended age? Say, books too “old” for your kids to read?”

I think parents should be the only ones to censor their kids’ reading. And I think that before you keep your kid from reading a book, you had better read it yourself. AND I think that if it’s a book that your kid really wants to read for whatever reason, you should sit down and talk about why you don’t think it’s appropriate yet and not just say, “No.”

I have this position because I occasionally read books that I really think I was too young for and that my parents let me read. In most cases, reading books that were too old for me didn’t cause any problems. If I didn’t understand something I just moved on, and I’m sure there were many things that went over my head. There was one book, however, that really roughed me up when I read it at the age of twelve and I, to this day, feel some anxiety when I think about it!

In other words, yes, I think there are books that might not be appropriate for certain kids at certain ages. But you have to know your kid to know what is appropriate for them and even then you’re going to get it wrong sometimes.

*

And in other NEWS, I am happy to announce that I am a Round 2 judge for the 2011 YA Bloggers Book Battle! It’s the second year that Alyssa over at The Shady Glade has hosted it and this year’s theme is a great one: Best Overlooked Book! I’m so excited to be a part of this extravaganza and I’ll be sure to post an update when I find out which pair of books I will be judging. The shortlist looks amazing, and, appropriately, I’ve only heard of a couple of them and read none of them!

Alyssa made a great trailer for the Battle. Check it out!

The dramatic music is just. So. Epic.

One thought on “BTT and the 2011 YA Bloggers Book Battle

  1. That’s what drives me (and pretty much every book blogger on the internet) crazy about those parents that insist on basically demolishing a book from existence in their school system when they decide that they don’t want their kid reading it. What, you’re allowed to make judgments about what other people’s kids should or shouldn’t read now? It’s maddening. If you think And Tango Makes Three is too racy for your toddler, fine, but let other parents, uh, parent!

    Oh snap! You’re a judge now? That’s doubleplus exciting. :D

Leave a Reply

