omg ya’ll, it’s Hour 24

Mia and I are barely keeping it together, but I think we can manage to fill this out, finish up our page/story/chapter and then check the heck out.

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? All of these at the end have run together – anywhere between hour 21 and now.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Whales on Stilts! was hilarious and fun. It was a great way to start my ‘thon and I bet it’d be a fun way to end it, too.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I wonder if we could vary the start time somewhat? It’s brutal to start at 5 am over and over.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? As always, I love all the support from everybody participating and the mini-challenges are so much fun!
  5. How many books did you read? I finished three and read some of three more.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Whales on Stilts!, The Rough-Face Girl, and Leviathan were the books I finished (one MG, one picture book, and one YA, respectively). Tending the Wild, Sailing to Sarantium, and If You Come Softly are the three I did not finish, but did work on (nonfiction, fantasy, and YA, respectively).
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Hard to say, because they’re all so different. Even my two that shared a ‘genre’, the two YA, were as different as can be. One is a contemporary romance, the other a steampunk adventure. That said, Whales on Stilts! was so much fun and completely unexpected. I tend to underestimate the necessity for fun books during the ‘thon.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Nonsense! I enjoyed them all.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? N/A
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Pretty likely. Mia and I were just talking about what kind of mini-challenge we might want to host…
    Mia:
  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour…22? Or 23? The hour immediately after Jessica woke me up, because I accidentally fell asleep for an hour. Whoopsidoodles.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I’d happily recommend any of Kage Baker’s Company novels. Maybe not so much anything by V.C. Andrews.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I just want to cosign Jessica’s idea. It would be nice to have a more leisurely morning or afternoon start around the Western US, even just once.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The mini-challenges are a great way to break up the hours. I know that’s not exactly breaking news, but I’m low on sleep and that’s all I’ve got.
  5. How many books did you read? I read the entirety of three books, finished one book that I’d already read most of, and read parts of five more, because I am fickle.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? The Rough-Face Girl, Farm 54, and Sweet Tooth Vol. 1 are the books I read through entirely; The Graveyard Game is the book I had already read most of; and I read parts of Rain, The Good Fairies of New York, We Never Talk About My Brother, The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation: Volume One: The Pox Party, and Vineland.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Hard to say. Farm 54 is a beautiful graphic novel with great use of sparing color and strong, sparing prose; I also really liked The Graveyard Game as I have all of what I’ve read of Kage Baker’s works, and The Pox Party is gearing up to be one of the best books I’ve read this year.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Well, I can’t say I didn’t get a masochistic pleasure out of reading more of the awful Rain, so I guess not that. I don’t know, I gave The Good Fairies of New York a try and just could. Not. Do. It.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? n/a
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? It’s gonna happen, y’all! Hosting a mini-challenge would be amazeballs, so at least Jessica and I have, what, six months to think of something clever?

And GOOD NIGHT FOREVER.

Leave a Reply

