2011 Reading and 2012 Goals

2011 – I didn’t keep very good track of my reading this year, missing a good chunk of books, so I can’t do a whole lot of summarizing or favorites or whatnot. I’m not even going to look back at my reading challenges – all I remember off the top of my head are POC and South Asian. I’m pretty sure I succeeded in the former and failed in the latter. Later this month I will post a (possibly joint with Mia) review of my last book of the year, Liar by Justine Larbalestier, which I picked as our January book club book. (Look! It’s bargain priced on Amazon! Go buy it!)

2012 Immediate Goals – I’m also thiiiiis close to finishing Sailing to Sarantium by Guy Gavriel Kay, so you can expect a review (probably just a short one) before the Liar one. (Also bargain priced!)

2012 Reading Challenges –So, I love reading challenges. I view them as a way to both focus and expand my reading. On that note, I’m planning on joining a few reading challenges again this year. I will update this post with them, but I’ll also make posts when I join them over the next few days. The first one I know I’ll want to join, my perennial challenge to read fifty books. There isn’t a blog set up like for a lot of challenges, just a few communities. Instead of participating in the communities, I am going to consider this a personal goal – no need to be social about it! :P This challenge, btw, really gave me a kick in the pants when I was 19 or 20. I had stopped reading as much after high school and missed it terribly. I found the 50 book challenge on livejournal and, with it, rediscovered my love of reading.

50 Book Challenge (links are to my reviews)
1. Sailing to Saratium by Guy Gavriel Kay
2. Farm 54 by Galit and Gilad Seliktar
3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
4. The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
5. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
6.  Taylor’s Temptation by Suzanne Brockmann

Leave a Reply

