2011 Book List

My 2011 book list is far from complete–I fell out of habit and didn’t update my file regularly for the last month or two of the year, and I may be missing a few. (Some are also out of order.) Nevertheless! It’s a fairly accurate representation of what I read over the course of the year. An asterisk denotes a re-read.

1. Challenges: Book Two of the Blending – Sharon Green
2. The Thing Around Your Neck – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
3. E Pluribus Unicorn – Theodore Sturgeon
4. The Green Glass Sea – Ellen Klages
5. A Girl Named Disaster – Nancy Farmer*
6. Victory of Eagles – Naomi Novik
7. Tongues of Serpents – Naomi Novik
8. Book of a Thousand Days – Shannon Hale
9. Sky Coyote – Kage Baker
10. Gathering Blue – Lois Lowry
11. A Nameless Witch – A. Lee Martinez
12. The Goose Girl – Shannon Hale
13. Plain Kate – Erin Bow
14. Monster – A. Lee Martinez
15. Dogsbody – Diana Wynn Jones
16. Enna Burning – Shannon Hale
17. Incarceron – Catherine Fisher
18. Prep – Curtis Sittenfeld*
19. Soulless – Gail Carriger
20. Emperor Mage – Tamora Pierce*
21. Sabriel – Garth Nix
22. SVH: Mystery Date – Kate William
23. American Born Chinese – Gene Luen Yang
24. It’s Too Late to Say I’m Sorry – Joey Comeau
25. Gil’s All Fright Diner – A. Lee Martinez
26. Barefoot Gen Volumes 3 and 4 – Keiji Nakazawa
27. Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes – Maureen Johnson
28. The Last Unicorn – Peter Beagle
29. The Rabbi’s Cat – Joann Sfar
30. Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You – Peter Cameron
31. Lirael – Garth Nix
32. The Princess Diaries – Meg Cabot*
33. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
34. Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins
35. Abhorsen – Garth Nix
36. Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac – Gabrielle Zevin
37. Dairy Queen – Catherine Gilbert Murdock
38. White Cat – Holly Black
39. Lulu Dark Can See Through Walls – Bennett Madison
40. Will Grayson, Will Grayson – John Green and David Levithan
41. Sloppy Firsts – Megan McCaffrey
42. Juniper – Monica Furlong*
43. The Swan Maiden – Heather Tomlinson
44. The Off Season – Catherine Gilbert Murdock
45. St. Lucy’s Home For Girls Raised By Wolves – Karen Russell
46. River Secrets – Shannon Hale
47. Red Glove – Holly Black
48. Terrier – Tamora Pierce
49. Princess in the Spotlight – Meg Cabot
50. Princess in Love – Meg Cabot
51. First Test – Tamora Pierce
52. Leviathan – Scott Westerfeld
53. Princess Academy – Shannon Hale
54. Boy – Roald Dahl
55. Einstein’s Dreams – Alan Lightman
56. Sellevision – Augusten Burroughs*
57. An Abundance of Katherines – John Green
58. Among Others – Jo Walton
59. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
60. Wild Seed – Octavia Butler
61. Whatever Happened To Goodbye – Sarah Dessen
62. Mendoza in Hollywood – Kage Baker
63. The Graveyard Game – Kage Baker
64. Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes – Chris Crutcher
65. Whales on Stilts! – M. T. Anderson
66. Farm 54 – Galit and Gilad Seliktar
67. Sweet Tooth Volume 1 – Jeff Lemire
68. Princess in Waiting – Meg Cabot
69. Princess in Pink – Meg Cabot
70. Squire – Tamora Pierce
71. Page – Tamora Pierce
72. Lady Knight – Tamora Pierce
73. Princess in Training – Meg Cabot
74. Party Princess – Meg Cabot
75. Princess on the Brink – Meg Cabot
76. Princess Mia – Meg Cabot
77. Deerskin – Robin McKinley
78. Front and Center – Catherine Gilbert Murdock
79. Chalice – Robin McKinley
80. Black Projects, White Knights – Kage Baker
81. Forever Princess – Meg Cabot

Some data:
+ I re-read 6 books, which means I read 75 books for the first time.
+ 58 books were written by women, and 25 books were written by men. (One book was written by a brother and sister team, and one was written by two men.)
+ My most-read author for the year was Meg Cabot, who wrote 10 books out of my reading list. Second place goes to Tamora Pierce with 6 books, and third is Shannon Hale with 5 books.
+ I read 6 graphic novels (American Born Chinese, Barefoot Gen Volumes 3 and 4, The Rabbi’s Cat, Farm 54, and Sweet Tooth), 2 audiobooks (Princess Academy and Whatever Happened to Goodbye), and the other 73 books were either traditional print books or ebooks on my Kindle. For 2012 I’ll have to keep better track of ebooks vs. print.

I spectacularly failed all the reading challenges I mentally signed up for at the beginning of the year–and if I did succeed in any, it was purely by coincidence. I haven’t decided whether I’m going to do any official challenges this year, or just try to follow some basic guidelines. We’ll see whether I remember to sign up for any! I do want to read outside of my privileges (can you tell that Jessica inspired me?), and I’d like to try some more audiobooks for long car rides. Plus, graphic novels! I love graphic novels and particularly supporting self-published and small-press comickers, but you’d hardly know it from this list. I also hope to keep better track of book data (genre, pub date, etc.) so that I can do more nit-picky analysis of my reading habits.

What did your reading list look like for 2011? Do you have any reading goals for 2012?

5 thoughts on “2011 Book List

  1. hahaha, one would think, just looking at your GoodReads, that you *only* read graphic novels! Your list is super good, though. Do you think this is a good number of books for you? IE are you going to set an overall book number goal to outdo yourself? :P I’d love to hear about challenges and/or guidelines/goals that you set for yourself once you figure it out. :)

    • :P That’s because that’s all I had time to mark down last night! When I have spare time I’ll go back in and mark more of what I’ve read, but until then it’ll have to stay skewed.

      I’m probably not going to purposefully set a higher goal to outdo myself–I don’t want the quantity of books to read to overshadow my enjoyment of them. Especially since 10 of the books I read were Princess Diaries books, which take like an hour each to read, haha. I’ll stick with 50+, though.

  2. Daaang. You read so many! Also, I think I’m a goof, because I looked through specifically for the ones that I loaned you/you loaned me. Did you leave Dopplegangster off because it was too dumb to include or because you chose not to finish it? :D

    • Dopplegangster was actually the last book I read of 2010! I finished it a bit before midnight, so it went on that year’s list. Don’t worry, it was dumb, but I still recognize it as a book!

Leave a Reply

