Questions of Book Lust

Gosh, do I love a good book meme. This one is from the Barefoot Medical Student. Somehow this post became full of hot men – I honestly don’t know how it happened, but enjoy!

Imagine you sit in front of a fireplace. You read and beside you there is a cup with something hot in it. What would that be in your case: tea, coffee or hot chocolate?

Depending on the night, either tea or hot chocolate. More likely tea, because I have waaaaay more of it!

If an author gave you the chance to rewrite or to change the fate of a book character, who would you chose?

Huh. I’m not sure that I would want to change canon, ever. I thought it would be interesting for (probably not surprising SPOILER for Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson) Rory to die at the end and then fight crime or whatever as a ghost in the next books. I’m happy to have her be alive, though, of course! (END SPOILER)  Maybe I would change the end of Northanger Abbey so that Catherine grows up a couple more years before she and Mr. Tilney get together. I love Mr. Tilney, but I really don’t get what he sees in Catherine (aka he should be with me).

Oh, Mr. Tilney, you saucy minx! Smile at me like any time.

Did your parents read stories to you when you were little? If yes are there any special ones you remember the most?

My dad would make up stories for my little brother and me. We would each name a character and an object (a bard and a green umbrella!) and my dad would make up a short story incorporating them. I know that they both read stories to me when I was little, but I remember more reading anything I could get my hands on to myself.

What do you like more the smell of old antiquarian books or the smell of new fresh ones you just bought?

Doesn’t matter! Some old books and some new books smell boring. Really, though, I love the smell of most books. Old books and new ones just have different smells, not better or worse.

You get the opportunity to choose between two secret talents: either to be able to make things come to life through reading them or the gift to read yourself into a book. Which one would you like to have?

Mr. Thornton, who has nothing to do with anything except for his being a Sex God.

Is it terrible that the first thing I’m imagining is my favorite (sexy, sexy) heroes like the aforementioned Mr. Tilney coming to life? I guess I would rather be able to go into books, as long I could make my way out of them at will.

Do you have a favorite children’s book or a favorite fairy tale?

I loved Matilda and Pippi and the Little Mermaid (anything by Hans Christian Andersen) and and…

Someone would talk to your friends and ask them to compare you to a book character. With whom do you think would they compare you?

No idea! Friends, any opinions? :P

Tell me the name of a writer whom you would like to have as a friend.

JKR, Markus Zusak (this is shallow – he is hot), China Mieville (same reason), Peter Beagle (not the same reason), idk really. A lot of YA authors seem awesome.

Aww, yeeeeeeah, Markus Zusak.

 

You can hide in a written down world for only one night – into which world do you escape?

Hogwarts augh Hogwarts is the immediate thing that comes to mind. I suppose that also depends slightly on what I’m escaping from, right? I need more details for a definitive answer!

Something terrible happens: you have to flee to an unknown place and all you can take with you are three books of all the ones you own. Which three ones do you put into your bag?

I assume that taking my nook would be considered cheating. Well, tough cookies, because that’s like the whole point of having an e-reader. So:

1) My nook
2) The Last Unicorn, I guess? It’s the kind of book that I am happy to pick up, turn to a random page, and revel in its beauty.
3) For similar reasons, Invisible Cities.

6 thoughts on “Questions of Book Lust

  1. Mmm, Mr. Thornton. I love that miniseries, but I haven’t been able to read the book yet, because apparently none of the libraries in my area have it. O_o

    (PS did you know he’s playing Thorin in “The Hobbit?” The idea of a “sexy” dwarf is kind of disturbing, but I’ll take more movies with Richard Armitage any day.)

    • Haha, YES! (Re: the Hobbit, that is.) I know I’ll find him sexy pretty much no matter what. (Though, also, you know that he plays Guy of Gisborne in Robin Hood? He starts out pretty greasy and sleazy and seriously challenged my Armitage love.)

  2. Pingback: Questions of Book Lust | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

