Traveling on Tuesday – St. Vincent & the Grenadines

St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Population: 120,000
Biggest City: Kingstown (appr. 25,000)

This is a small country, so there isn’t a wide and varied literature to choose from. Here’s what I could find:

Shake Keane (1927-1997) was a poet and musician from Kingstown. He published five poetry collections from 1950 to 1994 and there is one posthumous collection of his previously unpublished work, published in 2005.

Richard Morris Dey was (is?) another poet. It looks like there are no collections of his still in print, but some of his poems can be found online.

G.C.H. Thomas seems to have published only one book, Ruler in Hiroona, which is out of print, but looks awesome and political. I’ll be keeping my eye out for it!

H. Nigel Thomas is a current (finally!) Vincentian author, though he moved to and still lives in Canada. He has books in print! (Good lord. You don’t know how much time I’ve spent on this dang post.) Okay! Thomas writes about immigrants, mostly, and coming of age. His Return to Arcadia looks most exciting to me, but his other available books are Behind the Face of Winter, Spirits in the Dark (this one is a close second for me, though dang it being out of print!), and a short story collection, Lives: Whole or Otherwise.

Last and least (b/c I’m prioritizing homegrown authors), Canadian author Margaret Atwood’s book, Bodily Harm, takes place on a fictional Caribbean island supposedly based on (and where Atwood spent a few years/months?) Bequia, one of the northern islands of the Grenadines.

And that’s all she wrote. Anybody have stronger Google foo than me? I would love to hear that I missed something!

3 thoughts on “Traveling on Tuesday – St. Vincent & the Grenadines

  1. I’m going to come back to this when I have time to kill and try to use my own Googlefu techniques to see if I come up with anything. (Not trying to tout my fu as better than your own, but we’ll see if I can add anything to the greater good of people interested in reading lit from St. Vincent and the Grenadines!)

  2. Pingback: Links Lundi | Ruby Bastille

  3. There’s Anthony Joyette’s Anthology of Vincentian Poets: 1950-1980. H. Nigel Thomas has two other books: How Loud Can the Village Cock Crow? (short fiction) & Moving Through Darkness (Poems). They’re published by Afo Books in Montreal. The publisher Horace Goddard, can provide additional information
    hgoddard@emsb.qc.ca

Leave a Reply

