Among Others by Jo Walton

From the Publisher’s Weekly starred review:

“World Fantasy Award–winner Walton (Tooth and Claw) turns the magical boarding school story inside out in this compelling coming-of-age tale. Welsh teen Morwenna was badly hurt, and her twin sister killed, when the two foiled their abusive mother’s spell work. Seeking refuge with a father she barely knows in England, Mori is shunted off to a grim boarding school. Mori works a spell to find kindred souls and soon meets a welcoming group of science fiction readers, but she can feel her mother looking for her, and this time Mori won’t be able to escape.”

I’m a month late in my Google Reader still, so I’ve only just read Aarti from Booklust’s wonderful review of Among Others. Mia and I read it last year in our YA book club and both really enjoyed it (good choice, Mia!), but I couldn’t find us ever talking about it on the blog. Aarti pretty much covered my feelings on the book, so I’d urge you to go read her review if you want to know more about the book! (That short synopsis above makes it sound more action-packed than it is. This is an often meditative book, so keep that in mind.)

(Hey, Mia, someone in the comments posted a link to a Pinterest pinboard with all of the books Mor mentions, mostly with great classic covers – isn’t it awesome?)

3 thoughts on “Among Others by Jo Walton

  1. Aw, thanks for the shoutout! I agree the Pinterest board is awesome! Though I wish it had some context as to when Mor mentions those books or what she says about them. I really enjoyed this book, too, and am looking for more by Walton for sure!

  2. Ahh, just thinking back on this book makes my heart thump a bit with how much I enjoyed it during my reading of it. And now it’s won the Nebula, good job Jo! The Pinterest board is such a cool way of visualizing Mor’s reading, and makes me realize how intimidating the prospect of reading them all feels. I gotta hit up some of those classics, though, I’m woefully undereducated when it comes to old-school sci-fi.

  3. How bizarre: I *just* decided to track down Jo Walton’s “Lifelode,” and here’s a recommendation for another of her books! I am all for fantasy-with-a-small focus, so I’ll have to add this to my list.

    And hooray for bookish characters! I now feel I should read all the classics Polly goes through in Diana Wynne Jones’ “Fire and Hemlock”: it has to add another layer to the story.

Leave a Reply

