What Kind of Reader

I came across these two lists by the Atlanic via bookshelves of doom, and just had to share. I can’t pick just one that I am, not even one from each list, because like Walt Whitman, I contain multitudes.

From the first list, I identify with three types. One: the Cross-Under, obviously. Two: the Delayed Onset Reader #1 and somewhat relatedly, three: The Bookophile. (Though to be clear, I do not love books more than reading, but I do love books as objects aside from their content.)

From the second list, I have shades of being Easily Influenced, though I think it’s more that I’m a hard sell without a recommendation from a blog or person I trust. Going along with that is also a dash of Sharer, but the real winner here is It’s Complicated. “Each book means a new type of reader exists in your soul; you refuse to be defined or categorized.” Yup, that sounds about right.

3 thoughts on “What Kind of Reader

  1. Ooh, let’s see. I am 1) a Chronological Reader, 2) a Cross-Under, 3) a Multi-Tasker, 4) an All-the-Timer/Compulsive/Voracious/Anything Goes Reader. BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOKS.

  2. I don’t feel well represented =(
    I’ve got some chronological reader in me, and maybe some all-the-timer, especially lately. Maybe a touch of critic/sharer.

    I think if I was going to self-identify, I’d call myself something like a Appetite/Mission type (pokemon style!); when I pick up a book it’ll be because I’m craving x, y, or z, but I also like to set myself goals, and go hunting for books outside my comfort zone as a sort of anti-re-reader. But who knows

  3. I am definitely Delayed Onset #1, along with some Bookophile (although I’d say I’m recovering – I don’t mind dog-earing or underlining anymore) and Cross-Under. And I’m a tiny bit of Sharer although I try to contain myself to Goodreads and book memes.

Leave a Reply

