Read-a-Thon End of Event Meme

Whoa, guys, the Read-a-Thon is over! I (Mia) crashed at 2am (just couldn’t keep my eyes open a second longer) but Jessica heroically continued on until about 3:30. Good for her! Let’s have a look at the end of event meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Oh, definitely that 1am-2am stretch. I was reading a pretty light book so that wasn’t hard, but I just wanted to go to sleep so badly. When the clock hit 2:00, I was outta there.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books thau think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Wellllll, I had a lot of fun reading the sheer cheesiness that was Wait Till Helen Comes. I think any old-school YA/MG spooky stories that take themselves pretty seriously (like Christopher Pike, LJ Smith, etc.) are a good choice for the October Read-a-Thon.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I dunno, I had a lot of fun! I think maybe, as a word of advice to blogs running mini-challenges, make sure the instructions for your challenge are really clear and easy t0 follow. Some of the challenges this year were a little confusing or ambiguous in their phrasing.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? 
  5. How many books did you read? I finished two, and read bits of two more.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? The ones I finished were Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn and Tekkonkinkreet by Taiyo Matsumoto, and I read bits of Local Babies, Global Science by Marcia C. Inhorn and Supid Fast by Geoff Herbach.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Wait Till Helen Comes was a riot of (probably unintentional) campiness, so it was a lot of fun.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Tekkonkinkreet wasn’t bad, but there were a few possibly problematic moments that made me feel weird and uncomfortable, and I’m still processing how I feel about them.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? N/A
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’d love to host another mini-challenge with Jessica, engaging with other Thon-ers in that was great. I might also sign up for Cheerleading, because it seems like the Read-a-Thon could always use more of those!

Okay, Jessica’s turn:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I think it was hour 12am-1am. I managed to find a second or third or fourth wind, though!
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I think, in general, plottier books are good. YA, romance, and mystery are all good genres for when you start to flag. Specifically, the books that held my interest best this year were Mind of My Mind by Octavia Butler and A Fountain Filled With Blood by Julia Spencer-Fleming. A YA I’d recommend is Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson and a romance I’d recommend is Silk is for Seduction by Loretta Chase.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Well, I always request that we switch up the start time, either a couple of hours later or a few hours earlier.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? It was, as always, extremely well organized, at least from our perspective. Ya’ll are pros!
  5. How many books did you read? I read significant chunks of three books and smaller chunks of two others. Didn’t finish anything.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? I read, in order, 90 pages of Dead Beat  by Jim Butcher, the first chapter of Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake, 103 pages of A Fountain Filled with Blood by Julia Spencer-Fleming, the sixth chapter of Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban, and 90 pages of Mind of My Mind by Octavia Butler.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Either A Fountain Filled with Blood  or Mind of My Mind.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Hmm, I guess Dead Beat. I don’t always have the most patience for Dresden, and his sexism (not misogynist sexism, but “I don’t hit girls” sexism) definitely started to grate.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? n/a
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’ll almost for sure be participating next time! To completely ape Mia, I would love to run another mini-challenge and I’m thinking about being a cheerleader. It’s so encouraging and motivating to receive comments and I’d love to do that for people. :)

Thank you to everybody who participated – whether you were hosting or cheering or just reading. The reason the RAT is so fun is because of all of the awesome participants (us included! :D).

2 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon End of Event Meme

  1. I’m glad you’re both considering cheerleading next time! I’m also going to be a cheerleader next time because it seems like that part gets forgotten about most of the time.

    Jane

Leave a Reply

