Read-a-Thon End of Event Meme

Well, the Read-a-Thon is long over, and troops are groggy, but I think I can muster enough brainpower to at least wrap this thing up!

End of event meme

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

The start of Hour 21, since our mini-challenge had a few access problems that were extremely mind-boggling when we were already both sleep deprived!

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

I think comics in general are a good way to mix up the medium and refresh your brain–one of the comics I (Mia) read this year was Ryan Andrews’ short story “This Was Our Pact” and the energy and beauty of it was a great pick-me-up.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

This was the first year that I noticed some repetition among the mini-challenges, so I guess the best way to combat that is to really drum up interest so that lots of people feel inspired to submit really creative challenges and the organizers can choose from the best of the best.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

It was probably this way in previous years and I just didn’t notice, but I used Twitter for Read-a-Thon stuff the first time this year and while I sometimes let myself get too distracted by social media, it was a great way to feel connected to the other readers participating.

5. How many books did you read?

I only finished one whole book, but I also read two short story comics and bits of…three others? So six.

6. What were the names of the books you read?

I finished The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner, read “This Was Our Pact” by Ryan Andrews and and “You Can Do It, Dong Gu!” by Nam Dong Yoon, listened to disc 4 of the audiobook of The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, read a chapter of VC Andrews’ Rain, and got 45% of the way through The Girl of Fire and Thorns, by Rae Carson.

7. Which book did you enjoy most?

They were all good! The Scorpio Races audiobook is in particular really well-read, although you have to be careful not to fall asleep while listening to it! And then there was…

8. Which did you enjoy least?

Rain. We only read a chapter, but it was such an agonizing chapter. There were the usual entertaining bizarrities, like people emoting 100% through their eyeballs, but seriously, that entire chapter could have been condensed into, like, a paragraph. So much unnecessary stuff. It did give birth to a new bad simile, though, so there’s that.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

I wasn’t, so I won’t!

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

I am totally planning to participate in the next Read-a-Thon (which’ll be, what, my fifth? sixth? I can’t remember), although I’ll be cheesed if it falls on the same weekend as Alternative Press Expo again this year! Jessica and I will probably host another mini-challenge, and also try to read without getting too distracted by each other or the internet. In other words, same stuff, different day.

2 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon End of Event Meme

Leave a Reply

