Mid-Event Survey Time!

From Jessica:

1. What are you reading right now? I just finished Nimona, which was a lot of fun. Not sure what I’m going to pick up next.
2. How many books have you read so far? I’ve finished two (Nimona by Noelle Stevenson and Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix) and made progress in two more (25ish pages in Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson and the introduction to the Unfolding of Language by Guy Deutscher).
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I want to get to page 50 in Housekeeping, since it’s for a book club. I’m really looking forward to Through the Woods by Emily Carroll, which I will be stealing from Mia.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Not any external or unexpected interruptions. There have been little food breaks and checking the computer breaks, but nothing major.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? Hmmm. Like I said before, we’re getting to be old hats at this ‘thon thing, so I’m struggling to come up with anything surprising.

From Mia:

1. What are you reading right now? I’m more than halfway through Prairie Ostrich by Tamai Kobayashi and I’m really enjoying it.
2. How many books have you read so far? I finished Anne Helen Peterson’s Scandals of Classic Hollywood, and Prairie Ostrich will be my second. It feels like I’m reading more slowly than usual, although I think part of that is just that I take longer with nonfiction books, even when they’re engagingly written. I’m whipping through Prairie Ostrich much faster.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? The comics and maybe some of the stories in Olga Masters’ The Home Girls, which was given to me by an Australian friend!
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I occasionally let myself get a little distracted by Twitter or Vine (or bothering Jessica’s cats), but mostly it’s been smooth sailing.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? I’ve been doing more straight reading and fewer mini-challenges/less social media participation. I don’t think there’s any particular reason, just the whims of my brain. Probably when I’m punchy and sleepy later I’ll want to take more breaks and use the challenges as an excuse, haha.

From Brian:

1. What are you reading right now? Still working on some guys with guns Three Musketeers. 100 pages left!
2. How many books have you read so far?  Just the one – and I haven’t finished it, but that’s ok, it’s long, and soon, soon.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I’m gonna read at least a story or two from Invisible Cities post Musketeers, but then I really want to sit down with Tombs of Atuan – short, sweet, and Ursula le Guin!
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I’ve been doing ok, I think – I’ve definitely got distracted/less focused for at least a couple of hours – so fair I’ve been changing up venue when I start flagging, but now that it’s late that’s gonna get harder.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?  I’ve been really conscious of hanging around various public spaces with a book – that’s not totally weird for me, but it’s entered my thoughts a lot as I’ve bounced around the coffee shop, the park, and most recently waiting for take-out at the amaaaaaazing Thai restaurant right by where I live. I think just reading allll day has made for a kinda interesting mindset! Also, some guy yelled at me to get a job when I was at the park! But then, I also kinda look like a hippy.

Leave a Reply

