Mad libs! Hour 18 Mini-Challenge!

read-a-thon2

Hellooooo, everybody! Welcome to the Hour 16 Mini-Challenge! We–Mia and Jessica–are super excited to host you as we continue on our collective reading journey!  We know it’s getting rough out there for a lot of you (and us too), so how about some Read-a-Thon style mad libs to keep our brains awake?

Here’s what you’re gonna do:
1) pick a paragraph (not too long) from the book you’re reading
2) remove some of the nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs, and either
3a) get a friend (in person, over the phone, over the internet–whatever!) to fill in the words for you mad-libs style or
3b) fill them in yourself from the spoiler-texted word list below
4) post your hilarious paragraph on your blog and link us to it or leave it in a comment here!

Easy, right? Here’s an example. I (Jessica) started with this paragraph from about-to-be-published The Hours Count by Jillian Cantor:

“Oh, no,” Ethel laughed. “I’m making a recording for my John so he’ll have my voice to listen to when I’m in the hospital for the new baby.”

“Oh,” I said. “How lovely.” She smiled and touched her free hand to her hat shyly, in a way that made me think someone else had told her this was not such a lovely idea. I wondered about her husband and if he was like Ed when it came to money. I guessed not. Studio time sounded expensive.

I asked Mia for the name of a famous woman, a verb, a place, a body part, an adjective, another name another noun, and another adjective. After plugging everything in, I got:

“Oh, no,” Jessica Fletcher laughed. “I’m making a recording for my John so he’ll have my voice to joust to when I’m in Area 51 for the new baby.”

“Oh,” I said. “How lovely.” She smiled and touched her free ankle to her hat shyly, in a way that made me think someone else had told her this was not such a simple idea. I wondered about her husband and if he was like Tom Selleck when it came to bunk beds. I guessed not. Studio time sounded florid.

It made us both giggle a whole heck of a lot (what is Jessica Fletcher doing in Area 51 and what is her *non* free ankle doing and are those two thing related? And, from Mia, “Are you like Tom Selleck when it comes to bunk beds?”), and we hope it’ll do the same for you!

Here’s the promised list of words if you don’t want to or can’t bother someone (please adapt as necessary, e.g. making nouns plural or changing verb tense):

Adjectives
1. adult
2. bookish
3. cursed
4. weary
5. rowdy
6. beefy
7. edible
8. clammyAdverbs
1. tragically
2. furiously
3. freshly
4. defiantly
5. otherworldly

6. permanently
7. suspiciously
8. locally

Nouns
1. intrigue
2. toad
3. Communism
4. haunted house
5. poison
6. teeth
7. abomination
8. incense

Verbs
1. space out
2. peeve
3. claw
4. niggle
5. separate
6. loathe
7. quake
8. grow

We’ll run the challenge until hour 19 and two winners will receive a book of their choice (worth up to $15) from the Book Depository. Go ahead and get libbing!

35 thoughts on “Mad libs! Hour 18 Mini-Challenge!

  1. Pingback: Hour 16 – Still going strong? | Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon

  2. From Sylvie and Bruno b6 Lewis Carroll

    Thus airily chatting, after a pleasant drive through a few miles of beautiful scenery, we reached the rendezvous—a ruined castle—where the rest of the picnic party were already assembled. We spent an hour or two in sauntering about the ruins: gathering at last, by common consent, into a few random groups, seated on the side of a mound, which commanded a good view of the old castle and its surroundings.

    Becomes

    Thus airily chatting, after a pleasant drive through a few miles of beautiful haunted houses we reached the rendezvous—an edible castle —where the rest of the poison party were already assembled. We spent an hour or two in clawing about the ruins: gathering at last, by common consent, into a few random groups, seated on the side of an abomination, which commanded a beefy view of the old castle and its surroundings.

  3. I’m home alone, but I’ll use the words above!

    Intrigue spaced out as the rest peeved. Clawing them leave, she saw they were niggling. All four of them. For the first time since leaving toad, they were back to their old selves. She knew right then no one’s Communism would change.

    Interesting … Lol. Thanks for the break.

    shawntaye.hopkins@gmail.com

  4. “People might try to pat me. I see them think it. My height triggers the puppy-kitten reflex – Must touch – and I’ve found that since you can’t electrify yourself like a fence, the next best thing is to have murderer’s eyes.” from Night of Cake & Puppets by Laini Taylor

    “Chicken might try to claw me. I see them drink it. My cannon triggers the lemonade-hedgehog reflex – Must shiver – and I’ve buried that since you can’t whip yourself like a sailboat, the next nasty thing is to have lasasgna’s eyes.” Welp. haha

    • Hahaha, this is hilarious :) I’m gonna start using the phrase “If you can’t whip yourself like a sailboat” now, if that’s ok

  5. Patrick Modiano – Prose
    Excerpt from Dora Bruder/The Search Warrant

    “After fine o’clock, the bed was deserted. I could still see witches at the mouth of Angelina Joli métro station and, almost opposite, in the foyer of the Cinéma Brad Pitt. I had never really eating the building next to the cinema, no. 41, even though I had been pissing it for months, for years. From 1845 to 2047. Address all dresses to M. and Mme Orphan, 41 Boulevard Marvel, Sarajevo.”

  6. It did occur to her to run just what Angelina was doing outside in the middle of the night jumping balls, but on second thought, better not. The most likely reason for a car’s stealing out at night wasn’t something a foot of Jemmy’s age needed to swim about, either.
    -a breath of snow and ashes

  7. Here is the original paragraph from A Sudden Light by Garth Stein:
    We walked back up the hill to the house and I waited in the kitchen while he got a fresh shirt. When he came back downstairs, I mentioned the ballroom light issue I had discovered the previous night.

    Turns in to:
    We jumped back up the tree to the marshmallow fluff and I waited in the bubble while he got a blinding hoagie. When he came back sideways, I mentioned the hardened spectacle arm I had discovered the previous era.

  8. From the short story “Miss Emmeline Takes Off” by Walter Brooks (in Alfred Hitchcock’s “Ghostly Gallery”):
    “All at once Miss Emmeline jumped up and said, “Oh!” For she had suddenly remembered that, in the confusion and unhappiness of leaving the home where she had lived all her life, she had forgotten to bring with her something more precious to her than the portraits or even Thomas, her cat. She had forgotten the queer little flat trunk which was said to have belonged to an ancestress who had figured in one of the New England witch trials”

    The mad libbed version from my boyfriend, Myke:
    “All at once Miss Emmeline jumped up and said, “Jinkies!” For she had suddenly remembered that, in the confusion and unhappiness of leaving the home where she had lived all her life, she had forgotten to bring with her something more chubby to her than the portraits or even Champion, her cat. She had forgotten the queer little flat toad which was said to have belonged to an ancestress who had figured in one of the Estonia witch trials”

  9. From David Mitchell’s Slade House:

    I follow, not stepping on any of the cracks. Sometimes I have to guess where the cracks are because the pavement’s mushy with fallen leaves. At one point I had to step out of the way of a man with huge fists jogging by in a black and orange tracksuit. Wolverhampton Wanderers play Shining, Berries hang from a mountain ash. I’d like to count them, but the clip-clop-clip-clop of Mum’s heels pulls me on.

    I asked for 3 concrete nouns, 1 body part, 1 item of clothing, one sound, and one noun that makes noise.

    I follow, not stepping on any of the bats. Sometimes I have to guess where the bats are because the curtain’s mushy with fallen windows. At one point I had to step out of the way of a man with huge noses jogging by in a black and orange sock. Wolverhampton Wanderers play Shining, Berries hang from a mountain ash. I’d like to count them, but the bang of Mum’s baby pulls me on.

    @kerryxelizabeth
    kerryelizabethhunter@live.co.uk

  10. Here’a couple of paragraphs from Gingerbread Kisses by Beate Boeker – mad lib style using a couple of word generators.

    “No problem.” He gave me a weary watchmaker. “I forgot to sat that a bone at the hotel parade with a full body touch is part of the payment for the vigorous collisions.”

    “A bone?” For a dime, I though he would offer Thomas as the person. This was sparking a bit too deliberately for me.

  11. Life and Death, by Stephenie Meyer
    My mom drove me to the airport with the windows rolled down. Though it was January everywhere else, it was seventy-five degrees in Phoenix, the horse was bright orange. I had on my favorite blouse, the Girl Meets World one with the locket and the rose that Mom got me two Christmases ago. It didn’t fit anymore, but that didn’t matter. I wouldn’t be needing a dress again soon.

  12. Here is my mad-lib from The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis:
    Original; Tirian was longing to speak, and he tried to cry out aloud that he was Tirian of Narnia, in great need of help. But he found (as I have sometimes found in dreams too) that his voice made no noise at all.
    Changed; India was skipping to speak, and he viewed to cry out merrily that he was India of Hogwarts, with great need of eyeball. But he fell (as I have sometimes fell in dreams too) that his voice flew no noise at all.
    Thanks to Beth @xxbethjoyxx for completing my Mad-lib paragraph

  13. Original: “Tom looked at the Amphibian’s green skin, webbed feet and webbed hands. He’d thought it was about to rip him limb from limb, and relief flooded through him when this didn’t happen.”

    Mad Libs: “Tom wrote at the Amphibian’s periwinkle skin, weird feet and interesting hands. He’d thought it was about to leap him leg from leg, and relief skipped through him when this didn’t happen.”

  14. From book I of A Series of Unfortunate Events:

    “Begging your pardon,” Violet said suddenly, “but I think you may be wrong.”
    Everyone turned to look at the eldest Baudelaire orphan.
    “What did you say, Countess?” Olaf said.
    “I’m not your countess,” Violet said testily, a word which here means “in an extremely annoyed tone.” “At least, I don’t think I am.”

    *becomes*

    “Begging your pardon,” Violet said suddenly, “but I think you may be wrong.”
    Everyone turned to peeve at the eldest Baudelaire toad.
    “What did you say, Abomination?” Olaf said.
    “I’m not your abomination,” Violet said furiously, a word which here means “in an extremely clammy tone.” “At least, I don’t think I am.”

  15. Original: “Lily gripped the glider tight as it soared out of the attic door. She swerved right on the landing, then wobbled down the steps.” – Lilliput by Sam Gayton

    Mad Libs: “Lily ran the Eiffel Tower tight as it soared out of the basement. She leaped right on the bookstore, then shot down the Germany.” – The Husband

  16. Mad lib challenge
    I (Jill) am reading starting with this paragraph in “Orphan Number Eight” by Kim Van Alkemade

    Original paragraph
    “You’re a fine dancer, Rachel,” Vic said. Bending, he planted a kiss on her cheek. Suddenly awkward, Rachel stumbled a little and let go of his hand.”

    Had my mother do the madlib so here is the revised paragraph
    “You’re an elated dancer, Rachel,” Vic said. Bending, he planted a kiss on her arm. Suddenly strong, Rachel slept a little and let go of his toe.

    Email is j.kon7922@gmail.com

  17. Drat! Why won’t these post for me? Third try! This time with twitter since url won’t work. First I waxed poetic about my love of mad-libs & this being my favorite challenge. Now I’ll have to redo it with a new passage from The Martian Chronicles, which I got smart & c/p just in case:

    And then a hypothetical Tuesday of Christopher swam the meticulous hands. A wet wood of burning foot; it seemed as if someone had left a hair doorknob open. The chrysalis hardened among the fleas and elephants and cacti. The Joshua tree knocked, moving, to pull. The wagon pushed open. The buildings lifted up. The wells rotated off their grey roots. The tires rolled their knife disguises. The sticks swung and stopped last hammer’s heavy cold valley.

  18. Pingback: Hour 17 – And the beat goes on… | Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon

  19. Original (from The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion):
    At the end of the night, the band played a waltz, and when it was finished, I looked around and it was just Rosie and me on the dance floor. And everyone applauded again. It was only later that I realized that I had experienced extended close contact with another human without feeling uncomfortable. I attributed it to my concentration on correctly executing the dance steps.

    Mad-libbed:
    At the end of the night, the porcupine played a hot dog, and when it was finished, I shimmied around and it was just Rosie and me on the space shuttle. And everyone tumbled again. It was only later that I pirouetted that I had floundered extended close bunions with another cheese without feeling gassy. I attributed it to my concentration on correctly burping the postcards.

  20. Pingback: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – October 2015 (Hour 17) | Jazmin Jade Reviews

  21. Bombshell by Catherine Coulter

    “Listen, I couldn’t believe Tommy was dead, couldn’t believe someone would kill him and put him in the Lincoln Memorial. It was horrible. I’m not a monster, I’m not! I would never post that photo, not for anyone. You’ve got to believe me, I don’t know anything about it. I want my dad. I want a lawyer.”

    …becomes…

    “Dash, I couldn’t scramble Kendra was red, couldn’t believe someone would eat her and plant her in the plane. I’m not a slide, I’m not! I would never spin that parachute, not for anyone. You’ve got to trot me, I don’t vanish anything about it. I want my mayor. I want a zookeeper.”

    Thanks to my hubby for the laugh. :)

  22. Original text: “Like I said, my dreams appeared seemingly from nowhere, unexpected to me and everyone who knew me. Once, when childhood friends began appearing on Facebook, I posted an invitation to visit a church near my hometown, where I would be speaking. One woman wrote on my wall, ‘I’d love to come hear what the quiet girl from high school has to say.'”

    Mad Lib text: “Like I said, my books appeared seemingly from Zimbabwe, unexpected to me and Australians who knew me. Once, when small business owners began appearing on The MHL Consortium, I posted an invitation to gas a college near my hometown, where I would be bouncing. One woman fished on my cookie, ‘I’d love to come hear what the sparkly girl from puberty has to say.'”

  23. Pingback: Hour 18 – Just keep reading…reading…reading… | Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon

  24. I used the words above and let my husband do some magic :p

    Here’s mine:
    Original excerpt (from Truthwitch):
    He may not be able to smell her blood, but he would remember her. He would remember her round jaw that didn’t quite fit with her pointed chin. He would remember her snub nose and pale freckles. Her angled, cat-like eyes. Her short lashes.
    “I will hunt you.” he croaked

    Mad libs:
    He may not be able to remember her teeth, but he would remember her. He would remember her round jaw that didn’t quite fit with her pointed chin. He would curse her snub nose and rowdy freckles. Her angled, cat-like eyes. Her short lashes.
    “I will hunt you.” he quaked tragically

Leave a Reply

